This is the "Home" page of the "Wild Weather (ES6)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Wild Weather (ES6)   Tags: middle school, science, weather  

Last Updated: Mar 3, 2016 URL: http://danahall.libguides.com/content.php?pid=694190 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Weather is Wild!

Extreme weather events can have a devastating impact on communities and environments. Use the resources provided to learn about a type of extreme weather phenomenon (flood, hurricane, tornado, or drought), and then investigate a real-life example of that phenomenon. Events like Hurricane Sandy or the Dust Bowl make global headlines, and the ripples of their impact can be felt long after the damage has been repaired. 

 

Print and eBooks in the Library Collection

Looking for more? The library is full of books, both print and digital. The books listed below have great information; those with links are eBooks that you can access from anywhere.

Cover Art
Extreme Weather - Christopher C. Burt; Mark Stroud (Contribution by)  Icon
ISBN: 0393326586
Publication Date: 2004-10-01

Cover Art
History's Most Devastating Disasters - Thomson Gale Staff (Contribution by)  Icon
Call Number: REF 904 HIS
ISBN: 002865692X
Publication Date: 2001
This is very useful, but it's an actual paper book! You'll have to share.

Cover Art
UXL Encyclopedia of Weather and Natural Disasters  Icon  Icon
ISBN: 9781414418797
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
The Weather Almanac - Richard A. Wood  Icon  Icon
Publication Date: 2004
The "Earthquakes" article has paragraphs about several major earthquakes.

Start HERE!

To learn more about the extreme weather phenomenon you're studying, check out Weather Wiz Kids or Encyclopedia Britannica. Britannica is also a great place to find information on certain significant historical events, like the Great Tri-State Tornado or the Huang He River Floods.

  • Encyclopedia Britannica  Icon
    Encyclopedias are the best place to start! Get background information on historical events, or learn more about weather phenomena.
  • Weather Wiz Kids  Icon
    Great explanations of the science behind droughts, hurricanes, tornados, and floods.

For More Information:

Once you've gotten some background information, you can use what you've learned to search for more. Try a database like Science in Context, which is full of magazine and newspaper articles. Or, search in Gale Virtual Reference Library for an eBook that might provide you with more details. We've even found you some websites with content created by experts.

 

Working Off-Campus?

Working from home? The Database Passwords are available here.

If you're having trouble getting into Encyclopedia Britannica or Science in Context from home, try the Library Card # 0142001420.

 

Downloads

Need another copy of the notetaking worksheet? Want to download the sample bibliography so you can use it as a template for your own? Look no further! Download here!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip